Car Insurance
Policy Documents

Customer Shaped Policy Wording

 
We build our T&Cs using real customer feedback so they’re easier to understand

We want you to have a clear understanding of what your car insurance policy covers. Managers review and update our policy wording regularly to make sure our documents are customer friendly. But if you still have questions about anything in your car insurance policy, simply call us and one of our Customer Care Specialists will help you find the answer.

Policy

Your Policy Details give you complete information about your car insurance policy with DirectAsia.

Once you've completed payment, your confirmation email will include a secure link to download your policy documents to print and use as needed. Within 10 working days, we also send out a welcome pack by mail, including all official documents for your policy and invoice.

Claims

You may need to submit these forms when making a car insurance claim.

Accident toolkit

These documents provide useful information about what to do in the event of a car accident.

 

Car Insurance FAQs

Yes you can! For cars that are registered under a company name, you may get a quick quote online, however you will not be able to complete the purchase online at this moment as our online process requires a Hong Kong ID for the registered car owner.

To buy, please save the quote and call us on 2884 8888 and our friendly customer service specialists will help you complete the transaction.

At DirectAsia, we have carefully selected a panel of workshops where all repairs under your standard policy are carried out.

This panel will provide you with:

  • Quality repairs with workmanship guaranteed for 12 months.
  • Genuine/OEM parts.
  • Delivery services after your car is repaired.

This panel is strategically located all over Hong Kong so there is always one close to you.

If you ever have a problem with one of our workshops, you can raise your concern directly with the DirectAsia team and we will ensure this is solved promptly with our partner. You will never be left alone!

By having this close relationship with our workshops, DirectAsia is in a position to obtain better terms that help us keep our prices competitive. This is a win-win-win relationship for you, our partners and us.

If, however, you prefer to use another workshop, you can always take the "My Workshop" option which will allow you to repair your car wherever you feel comfortable.

Most policies in Hong Kong are on a sum insured basis. This forces you to assess the value of your car every year and you will be the one penalized if you mis-estimate your sum insured:

  • If your sum insured is higher than the market value, insurers would only pay the market value of your car at the time of accident. You would have been paying extra premium for nothing.
  • If your car is under insured, you take the risk of not being able to replace your car with the monies paid by the insurer.

DirectAsia.com removes this hassle by being the first insurer in Hong Kong to guarantee you that you will be fully compensated in the case of a total loss. Your car is always covered for its replacement cost at any time. You don't pay for what you don't need.

For a full definition of market value please click here

Yes. You just need to tell your car dealer that you will be getting your car insurance from DirectAsia. You may well find that you benefit from this in terms of saving money or from better level of cover than that offered as standard by the car dealer. Check out by getting an online quote first - you have nothing to lose!

We make our policies in such a way that you pay only for what you need. We also focus on insuring safe drivers, so you don't pay for those that aren't. Here are a number of ways you can further cut costs on the price of your cover:

  • Opt to pay a higher excess. The higher the excess the lower the premium.
  • Certain car models are more expensive to insure than others. Bear this in mind when purchasing a new vehicle.
  • Our Comprehensive cover gives you the maximum protection on the road. If you choose our optional benefits then your premium will increase.
  • You can also choose to lower your premium by selecting the cheaper options of either Third Party Only or Third Party Plus plans. These policies are less expensive than our Comprehensive plan, (although please do remember that the insurance coverage is lower).

Your car insurance premium (the price of your cover) is based on a number of factors including driver profile which looks at your driving experience, the number of named drivers you have and your No Claim Discount. We also take into account the car's make, model and age.

The excess you choose will also affect your premium. The higher the excess, the lower the premium.

Any optional benefits you choose will also affect your premium.

An excess is the amount that you must contribute towards the cost of a claim. The type of excess and the amount payable will be shown on the Schedule. If you make a claim, you pay us any excess that applies. The excess in your policy applies to own damage, third-party damage and windscreen claims. Additional excess could be applicable if the driver at the point of accident is not named in the policy.

We allow you to choose your excess on your policy. The higher the excess, the lower the premium (price). This is only applicable to the basic excess and not to the additional unnamed driver excess.

If you have been a named driver on someone else's insurance, you are not entitled to any NCD.

At DirectAsia, however, you will still be entitled to a special price subject to us receiving a copy of the policy with the NCD and your name mentioned.

If you have been driving a company car, however, and you then buy a personal car, you would be allowed to transfer the NCD. This is provided you can show the number of claims' free years you have with a letter from the HR department of your employer or from the leasing company, if the car was leased. The underwriter will decide the NCD to be awarded.

Click here for more details on NCD.

Under all our car insurance plans your NCD will not be protected as standard, but if you have 60% NCD, then for a small additional charge you can opt to protect it. If you select NCD Protection under our optional benefits then we will protect your No Claim Discount (NCD) when you make up to one claim under your policy and only if you renew with us.

Note that if you already have a NCD protection with your current insurer, the NCD that you declare to us would have to be your status before your NCD protection.

A No Claim Discount is a discount that we offer you on your renewal premium if there are no claims on your policy during the current period of insurance. Click here for more details on NCD and who is eligible.

No, you do not need to select Private and business use to make a few business calls. This is so long as you inform us when you plan to do so. You can make business calls up to five times per policy at no extra cost.

For more information on car usage, click here.

  • Private Use: You are only using your car in the course of your private life and for leisure.
  • Private Use and Commuting to Work: You are also using your car to go to and from your workplace.
  • Private and Business Use: You are also using your car for and during the course of your work.

For more information on car usage, click here.

Your policy covers you when your car is in Hong Kong SAR only.

Drivers authorised by the car owner are covered under the policy as long as they:

  • Have less than 12 driving offence points.
  • Have not had their licence suspended or cancelled in the last 5 years.
  • Have not been refused insurance or had it terminated in the last 3 years.

Kindly note, however, that unnamed drivers could be subject to:

  • Unnamed driver excess.
  • Young driver excess.
  • Inexperienced driver excess.

Please note that the excesses are cumulative. This could then lower the amount of any payment you receive in the event of a claim. We would recommend naming all drivers in your policy. You can ring us at any point to add new named drivers. Please note that this could in term affect the level of premium that you pay.

If a claim for loss of or damage to the car is reported by the authorised driver under this policy then we will pay for the car to be repaired and the authorised driver enjoys the same cover as the car owner. BUT if we settle in cash in lieu of repairs, we would settle the claim directly with the legal owner.

Here is a checklist of who is eligible for our car insurance 

  • The main driver must be aged 70 or below, with at least two years' driving experience. At DirectAsia, we do insure drivers as young as 20 years old. We might, however, limit the type of car that can be insured according to your age.
  • At DirectAsia, we ask you to name all regular drivers (named drivers) on your policy so that everyone pays the right premium. If you don't have young drivers on your policy then you don't have to pay for those who do!

We have to exclude some drivers in order to keep your premium (the price of your cover) down.

We cannot cover you if:

  • You have been declined when trying to renew your policy in the last 3 years. Or you have had your policy terminated in the last 3 years.
  • You've had your licence suspended in the last 5 years.
  • You're involved in any of the following trades or services:
    • Personnel of foreign armed forces.
    • Professionals who are involved with the entertainment industry.
    • Professional sportsmen or sportswomen.
    • Foreign diplomats and foreign diplomatic staff.
    • Driving instructors requiring business use.
  • You are driving a commercial vehicle.

The market value of a car is calculated by looking at the price of a similar car (brand, model, age) available in the market at the time of accident. Market value is provided by car dealers and professional loss adjusters.

Windscreens and windows are covered against damage. We will pay for the full replacement cost. We will only charge an excess of HK$500 if we have to replace windows or windscreens but this is waived if we can repair the damage. We will come to you to carry out the work at your convenience.

Under our Comprehensive or Third-Party Plus cover, you will not receive a courtesy car but for a little more you can take out our optional benefit called Loss of use. With this we will pay you a daily rate of HK$500 to help you with transport costs while your car is being repaired. We will pay up to a maximum of 10 days per accident and 20 days per year.

Unlike most insurers we will not impose a minimum number of days on you and we do not expect you to show proof of your additional expenses either.

As a valued customer of DirectAsia, you can use your car outside of your declared usage up to 5 times a year by calling us at 2884 8888 or sending an email informing us of your upcoming usage at CarUsage@directasia.com.hk. Please tell us about this in advance in order to ensure you are properly covered.

If you use your car outside of your declared usage and you forget to inform us beforehand, an additional excess of HK$10,000 would apply if you are involved in an accident during this usage.

Misdeclaration of Usage

Important note: If you have misdeclared your usage at the quotation stage, ie you are using your car frequently during the course of your work but only took private usage, or if you drive frequently to your work place but took only private usage, we reserve the right to reduce or reject your claim altogether.

If you make a claim under this policy and you have other insurance covering the same damage or loss then we are liable to contribute a pro-rated amount in the event of a claim.

Your Comprehensive or Third-Party Plus cover allows you to use a repair workshops that is listed under our list of approved workshops. We will give a 12 months guarantee for all workmanship done at our approved workshops.

If you have selected our optional benefit of "My Workshop" - this means you can use a repair workshop of your choice.

DO NOT try to start your car as the flood water may damage the engine. Call us immediately to arrange the car to be towed. Call 2884 8899.

If you are in or near the burning car, get far away from it quickly. Your safety comes first. Call 999 for the fire brigade. Get details of the officer who attends to the fire and a copy of the fire report.

If your car is damaged in an arson attack, report it to the police so that they can investigate and find the culprit. Get a copy of the police report and call us to lodge a claim on 2884 8899.

Please report the stolen car immediately to the police so that they can investigate the matter and try to find the car.

Get a copy of the police report and call us to lodge a claim on 2884 8899.

If you settle the matter amicably with the other driver, then there is usually no need to make an insurance claim. You must still report the matter to us, though. It will NOT affect your No Claim Discount.

You will need to submit the following documents (keep the original copies) to substantiate your claim either by fax at (852) 2884 8833, email at Claim@DirectAsia.com.hk or post to DirectAsia, 1101, 11/F, Allied Kajima Building, 138 Gloucester Road, Wan Chai.

  • Completed claims form (for accident or windscreen only).
  • Police report – refer to our section on reporting to police.
  • Notice of Intended Prosecution (if any).
  • Breath screening test report.
  • Medical and specialist reports – if any claimant is injured get a medical report from the doctor.
  • Bills and invoices of expenses incurred (i.e. towing, medical fees).
  • Documents supporting your claim (i.e. photographs, medical certificates).
  • Names and particulars of witnesses.
  • Vehicle registration document.

If you are involved in a traffic incident involving bodily injury or your vehicle is stolen, you should report to the police immediately. If no bodily injury is involved, you should report the case in person at the nearest police station not later than 24 hours after the accident.

To protect your own interest, lodge a complaint to the police within 10 days if the incident was caused by the negligence of the third party(ies).

If someone is injured or there has been a fatal accident, please do not attempt to move the injured person or the vehicles. Call 999 first, and then call us. We will assign a delicated Claims Specialist to help you.

In the event of an accident stay calm and make sure everyone is safe. Do not discuss liability. Call us at 2884 8899. When you phone us, our professional Claims Specialist will guide you.

For more information about what to do in the event of an accident, click here

Have questions?  Speak with us directly at (852) 2884 8888 or provide your details and we’ll call you back on the next working day.

汽車保險
保單文件及常見問題

為客戶而設的保單用詞

 
透過現有客戶提供的反饋,我們建立條款細則,讓您更容易明白保障內容

為確保汽車保險條款容易理解,我們的管理團隊會定期審理及更新條款內條文,以精簡易明的用詞,讓您更容易了解保單內容。若您就汽車保險有任何問題,請致電我們,我們的客戶服務專員會提供協助。

保單

DirectAsia豐亞保險為您提供汽車保險計劃的詳細資料

當完成付款程序後,您將會收到一封確認電郵,電郵包含可下載您個人保單文件的安全連結,以便作打印用途。其後在十個工作天內,我們將以郵遞方式,把歡迎信連同保單文件的正本及帳單一併寄出。

索償

在申請汽車保險索償時您需要提交的表格

 
意外指南

此文件提供汽車意外時應如何處理的有用資料

 

汽車保險 常見問題

可以!如果您的車輛是以公司名義註冊,您可以在網上先索取即時報價,但由於我們的網上購買程序需要一個香港註冊的車主的香港身分證號碼,因此若要購買,請保存報價,然後致電 (852) 2884 8888 我們的客戶服務專員會協助您完成交易。

豐亞保險特意為您精心挑選了多間特選汽車維修中心,讓您可以按照汽車保險計劃進行所有維修工作。

特選汽車維修中心可以為您

  • 進行所有維修工作,並提供12個月的手藝保養
  • 提供原廠/ OEM零件
  • 提供維修後的送車服務
我們的特選汽車維修中心遍佈香港各地,總有一家在您附近.

假如您對我們任何一間維修中心有任何問題,可以直接向豐亞保險的職員提出,我們會盡快與我們的合作伙伴解決有關問題。我們隨時願意提供協助,您永遠無需孤軍作戰!

透過與特選汽車維修中心保持緊密的合作關係,豐亞保險能獲得更優惠的價格,從而保持保費低廉而具競爭力。這對顧客、我們的合作伙伴及我們而言是一個三贏局面。

但假如您希望選擇採用其他的維修中心,您亦可以選擇「自選維修中心」,便可隨意在您所選的維修中心進行維修工作。

多數在香港的保單均以投保額為基礎。您必須每年評估車輛的價值,假如您錯誤估計投保額,便可能蒙受損失:

  • 假如您的投保額高於市值價,在意外發生後保險公司只會賠償您汽車的市值價。這表示您需要支付高於實際所需的保費,但並不能從中獲益。
  • 假如您的投保額過低,您便需要蒙受賠償金額不足以補償更換汽車開支的風險。
豐亞保險為您省卻所有麻煩,我們是首家保證在汽車完全損毀時您獲賠償所有損失的保險公司。您只需支付應繳付的保費金額。

詳閱汽車保單詳情查看完整的市值價資料。

 

可以,您只需向代理商表示您將會購買豐亞保險的汽車保險。

我們的保險計劃經過精心設計,讓您只需支付應繳的保費。以下的方法可以幫助您減低保費開支。

  1. 選擇支付較高的自負額(墊底費)。您所選擇的自負額(墊底費)越高,所需支付的保費便會越低。
  2. 汽車保險的保費會因應車輛型號而有所不同。
  3. 我們的綜合汽車保險為您提供駕駛的一般保障。假如您選擇我們的額外保障服務,您的保費便會相應調高。
  4. 您可以選擇購買汽車第三者保險或升級汽車第三者保險等保費較低的保險計劃,以減低您所需支付的保費。這些保險計劃的保費比綜合汽車保險為低,但您需要緊記當中提供的保障範圍亦會較少。

我們根據多種因素來計算您的汽車保險保費,包括駕車司機的資料及駕駛年資,如記名司機的資料及您的無賠償記錄折扣 (NCD)。我們也會考慮汽車的車廠、型號及車齡。

您所選擇的自負額(墊底費)也會影響您的保費。自負額(墊底費)越高,保費就越低。

您所選擇的任何額外保障服務亦可能會影響您的保費。

 

自負額(墊底費)是在進行索償時您必須承擔的開支金額。賠償金額列表上會列明自負額(墊底費)的種類與您需付的金額。假如您提出索償,您將需要向我們支付任何適用的自負額(墊底費)。您保單中的自負額(墊底費)適用於當您的汽車包括擋風玻璃及車窗(如需更換)、自身損毀及第三者的財物損壞而提出索償。假如在意外發生時,駕車司機並非保單上的其中一位記名司機,則可能需要支付額外的自負額(墊底費)。

您可自由選擇您保單的自負額(墊底費)。自負額越高,保費就越低。但這只適用於自身損毀及第三者的財物損壞自負額(墊底費),而不包括未記名司機的自負額(墊底費)。

如您是在其他的保險上為已登記記名司機,您是不獲任何無賠償記錄折扣 (NCD)的。

但是在豐亞保險,您仍然可以享有價格的優惠,您只需向我們提供有關的保險單副本並清楚顯示NCD及您的名字。

另外,如您是駕駛公司車輛,然後再購入一部私家車,您可以轉移您的NCD。您只需向我們提供有關您的無賠償記錄折扣(NCD)證明,以及由您受僱主的人力資源部 (或假如您所使用的為租用車輛,則由租車公司提供)。最終的無賠償記錄折扣率由核保部決定。

查看更多有關無賠償記錄折扣保障(NCD)的詳情。

在我們的汽車保障計劃中,您的NCD均不會自動獲得保障。但假如您有60%的無賠償記錄折扣 (NCD),您可選擇支付額外保費以保障您的60%無賠償記錄折扣 (NCD)。 假如您選擇我們額外保障服務中的NCD保障計劃並同時與我們續保,您的無賠償記錄折扣(NCD)將會獲得保障,而您只可在保單上作出最多一次的索償。

請注意,假如您已享有現時承保的保險公司所提供的無賠償記錄折扣(NCD)保障計劃,您向我們聲明的無賠償記錄折扣(NCD)必須為您的NCD保障計劃開始前的狀態。

無賠償記錄折扣(NCD)是我們提供的一項續保優惠,而您在現時的保險生效期間未有作出任何索償,便可享有這項優惠。詳閱更多有關無賠償記錄折扣(NCD)及享有NCD的資格。

不,假如您只是在間中使用我的車輛作工作期間用途,您無需選擇私人及工作期間用途的選項。您只需在您計劃使用車輛作工作期間用途前 通知我們。您可在保單下使用車輛作最多五次的工作期間用途,而無需支付額外費用。

詳閱有關車輛使用的詳情。

  • 私人用途:您只使用車輛作私人生活及閒暇用途。
  • 私人及上下班用途:您會使用車輛作私人生活及或閒暇及上下班。
  • 私人及工作期間用途:除私人及上下班用途外您同時亦會使用車輛作工作用途,及在工作期間使用該車輛。

按此查看更多有關車輛用途的詳情。

您的保單只適用於在香港境內使用您的車輛。

獲車主授權使用車輛的司機將可獲得保單的保障,但該司機必須:

  • 駕駛違規扣分少於12分
  • 在過去5年內,並無被停牌或吊銷駕駛執照的記錄
  • 在過去3年內,並無被拒絕投保或終止汽車保險的記錄

但未記名的司機將可能需要支付以下費用:

  • 未記名司機自負額(墊底費)
  • 年輕司機自負額(墊底費)
  • 無經驗司機自負額(墊底費)

請注意,有關自負額(墊底費)是以累積方式來計算。

假如獲車主授權使用車輛的司機按照保單作出車輛損毀或損壞的索償,我們會支付維修車輛的所需費用,而獲授權司機可享有與車主相同的保障。但假如我們以現金方式處理索償而非維修車輛,則會直接與保單持有人處理有關索償。

以下人士符合我們的汽車保險投保資格

  • 主要司機必須為70歲或以下人士, 同時擁有最少兩年的駕駛經驗。豐亞保險接受年齡低至20歲的年輕司機投保,但我們可能會按照您的年齡,限制可投保的車輛類型。
    • 在豐亞保險 ,我們要求您在保單上列出所有經常使用該車輛的司機,以確保每個人都能支付正確的保費。假如您的保單上並不包括年輕司機,您無需因為別人保單上的年輕司機而支付昂貴保費!
為了能盡量減低您的保費,我們需要排除某類型的司機。

假如您屬於以下人士,您將不能投保:
  • 在過去三年在您曾在保單續保時被拒絕。或在過去三年內您的保單曾被中止。
  • 在過去五年內您曾被停牌。
  • 您從事以下任何一種貿易或服務:
    • 外國武裝部隊人員
    • 涉及娛樂業的專業人士
    • 專業運動員
    • 外交官或外交人員
    • 需要使用汽車作為工作用途的駕駛導師 
  • 您駕駛商用車輛

在意外發生時汽車市場中類似的車輛 (包括車廠、型號及車齡) 的價格,來計算出汽車的市值價。我們亦會透過汽車代理商及專業評估員提供的市值價作參考。

擋風玻璃及車窗的損壞同時亦獲得保障,我們會全額支付合理的維修費用。只有當您車輛的擋風玻璃或車窗需要更換時,我們才會收取港幣500元的自負額 (墊底費),假如損壞可以進行維修,上述費用會獲得豁免。我們的特選汽車維修中心會在您方便的時間和地點進行維修。

綜合汽車保險或升級汽車第三者保險並不會提供代步車輛,但您只需支付少許額外費用,即能享有我們的代用汽車津貼額外保障服務。在車輛進行維修期間,您可獲每天港幣500元的賠償以資助您的交通費用。每宗意外最多可獲10天的賠償,而每年賠償日數最高為20天。

與其他保險公司不同的是我們沒有最低賠償日數限制,也不需要您出示額外開支證明。

作為豐亞保險的尊貴客戶,您在每一個保險年度可最多可享有5次以其他用途使用您的車輛,您只需致電2884 8888 與我們聯絡,或電郵至CarUsage@directasia.com.hk以通知我們您即將使用您的車輛作其他用途的詳情。

如果您使用您的車輛作指明用途以外的其他用途,而忘記事先通知我們,假如您在這次用途期間發生交通意外,可能需要支付港幣1萬元的額外自負額(墊底費)。

假如您在報價期間錯誤提供車輛用途的資料,即您在工作期間會經常使用該車輛但您只購買了私人用途的保險,或您經常需要使用汽車作上下班用途而只購買了私人用途的保險,我們保留權利減少或拒絕您的索償。

假如您根據此保單提出索償,而同時擁有另一份提供相同損壞或損失的保險,在您提作出索償時,我們會支付按比例的賠償金額。

在綜合汽車保險或升級汽車第三者保險下,您可使用我們其中一個特選汽車維修中心所提供的維修服務。我們會為在特選汽車維修中心所進行的維修工作提供12個月的手藝保養。

假如您選擇我們的自選維修中心額外保障服務,您便可自由選擇任何一個維修中心。

切勿嘗試發動汽車, 因為雨水可能會損壞汽車的引擎。您應立即致電 (852) 2884 8899 與我們聯絡以便安排拖車服務。

假如您正在焚燒的汽車中或附近,您應盡快遠離起火的車輛。最重要是確保您的安全。您應致電999求助並記錄到場的負責警員資料及取得一份火警報告副本。

假如您的汽車在縱火中被損壞,您應立即報警,以便警方能調查案件並拘捕犯案人士及取得一份警方報告,並致電(852) 2884 8899與我們聯絡以便記錄索償詳情。

您應立即報警,以便警方調查案件及找尋失車及取得一份警方報告,並致電(852)2884 8899與我們聯絡以便記錄索償詳情。

假如您與另一位司機自行解決問題,通常無需提出保險索償。但您仍需向我們報告有關意外。這不會影響您的無賠償記錄折扣。

您將需要提供以下文件的副本,並保留正本作為索償證據。您可把文件傳真至 (852) 2884 8833,以電郵發送至Claim@DirectAsia.com.hk或郵寄至香港灣仔告士打道138號聯合鹿島大廈1101室豐亞保險收。

  • 已填妥的索償表格(只適用於 意外擋風玻璃)
  • 警方報告編號
  • 擬控告通知書(如適用)
  • 酒精呼氣測試報告
  • 藥物損害測試報告
  • 醫生報告及專家報告—假如任何索償人在意外中受傷,應向醫生索取醫生報告。
  • 意外所引起的帳單及開支收據(即拖車及醫療費用)
  • 幫助索償的其他文件(即相片及醫療證明等)
  • 證人的姓名及詳細資料
  • 車輛登記文件

如您涉及交通事故並牽涉及人命傷亡或受保車輛遭受盜竊,應盡快通知警方。如意外中並無牽涉及人命傷亡,您亦應於意外發生後二十四小時內到警署備案。

為保障您的權益,如此事故是由於第三者疏忽所導致,應於十天內正式向警方提出投訴。

假如有人受傷或死亡,切勿嘗試移動傷者或車輛。請先致電999求助,然後聯絡我們,我們會立即提供指引。

在發生意外時,您應保持冷靜,並確保每個人的安全。切勿討論責任問題,應立即致電(852)2884 8899與我們聯絡。在您致電時,我們的索償專員會提供指引。

意外發生時的處理方法,請查閱詳情

 

有疑問?  直接致電我們(852) 2884 8888 或在下方留下您的聯絡方式,我們會於下一個工作天致電回覆您。